Together We

Build Futures

Founded over thirty years ago, Rock Spring Children’s Center has a mission of providing affordable, quality child care and preschool services to families of the local community.

A non profit, 501(c)(3), NAEYC accredited, child care organization, our school serves over 150 local families and employs over 45 dedicated and loving child care professionals and teachers whose average tenure at Rock Spring Children’s Center is 7 years. The School uses its nonprofit status to fundraise each year so that it can offer education benefits for the School’s hard working and dedicated teachers, improve the School so that it better serves the community, and offer several partial scholarships to local families with economic need.

Our Philosophy

Rock Spring Children’s Center offers children an environment where they can develop healthy attitudes, an eagerness to learn, a trust in those who care for them, and an awareness that they are special and loved. Indivi­dual needs are met in a stimulating, nurturing program, and talents are developed through shared experiences and a strong, play-based, educational curriculum.

Our guiding principle during our long history has been to provide the best quality care for our children that we can reasonably provide.  We have accomplished this by hiring the most loving and caring teachers we can find and treating them as well as we can so that their happiness cascades over to our children.

Our Leadership

Rock Spring Children’s Center is overseen by our School President and a Board of Directors consisting of current and former parents, staff, and members of the community. The daily operations of the school are managed by our amazing and committed Directors.

Carrie Meyer

Executive Director

Our Executive Director, Carrie Meyer, has over 25 years of experience working in childcare. After spending 7 years as a child care teacher working with every age group from infants to school age children, Carrie was promoted to the assistant director of the School in 1996 and took over as Executive Director in 2005. Carrie oversaw the expansion and transition of the School into its new facilities. She has 3 children who all attended the School, and has lived in the local area all of her life. Carrie serves on the Board of the Organization of Child Care Directors (OCCD) of Montgomery County and is the 2017-2018 Co-Chair of the OCCD Board.

Sandra Acklin

Operations Director

Our Operations Director, Sandra Acklin, has been working at the School for over 20 years. She began with us in 1993 as a toddler teacher, and has worked with several other age groups as well. In 2001, she became the lead teacher for the two-year-old classroom. She quickly became a parent favorite, as her philosophy that "they are all Kings and Queens" was easily apparent. In 2008, she was promoted to the role of Operations Director for the School.

Shaun Rose

School President

Overseeing the Directors and general operation of the School is our President, Shaun Rose. Shaun is a former litigator who has also worked in politics and the education field. He taught elementary and middle school for 3 years, and has a Masters Degree in Elementary Education as well as a law degree. He has been an integral part of several local political campaigns on the state and federal levels. As a parent of two children at the School, Shaun volunteered hundreds of hours and became President of the School's Board of Directors. In that role, Shaun led the effort to save our School when it was forced to leave its previous facility. Within a period of just 10 months, Shaun negotiated a lease for the new facility, obtained the needed financing, and oversaw the construction of our beautiful new School. After that, Shaun took on a permanent, part time role as the School President to provide continuous professional and managerial support in helping shape the School into one of the best and most sought after child care and preschool providers in this area. He served on the Montgomery County Commission on Child Care from 2010-2016 and is the Chair of the Montgomery County Chapter of the Maryland State Child Care Association (MSCCA) as well as the MSCCA 1st Vice-President for 2017-2018.

2023 Board of Directors

   Jacqui Demitz – Chair
   Susan Torzilli – Vice-Chair
Elizabeth McCarty Bashir – Secretary
   Ross Berman – Treasurer
   Shaun Rose – School President
   Carrie Meyer – Executive Director
   Mike Wolfson, Kate Bushman Smith, Gustavo Urrutia, Nkemjika Ofodile-Carruthers, CJ Foreman